AICAD Releases Statement In Response to Trump Administration’s announcement to end DACA

AICAD logo

September 7, 2017

We, the undersigned members of the Association of Independent Colleges of Art & Design, express
our deep disappointment and frustration with the Trump administration’s announcement earlier
this week to end the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program. Access to education
for all, native born or immigrant, has long been a hallmark of the United States, providing both
personal enrichment as well as public benefit through a strengthened economy, new generations of
innovators and healthier communities. To particularly target young people, most of whom have
known no home other than the United States, is cruel and in direct conflict with the values of our
educational institutions. The elimination of DACA further isolates and blocks pathways for those
who are seeking a better future for themselves and who can contribute to this country we all share.

In addition, the continued xenophobic positions of this presidential administration are a threat to our
economy. International student enrollment at US higher education institutions contributes $32.6
billion each year to the US economy. The US has long been the top destination of talented students
from across the globe, but we are already seeing signs of decline. The education sector is a major
contributor to the US economy, and we must continue our long tradition of being open and welcoming
to the world’s students.

Deborah Obalil, President, Association of Independent Colleges of Art & Design

On behalf of:
John Sullivan, President, Art Academy of Cincinnati
Lorne Buchman, President, ArtCenter College of Design
Stephen Beal, President, California College of the Arts
Ravi Rajan, President, California Institute of the Arts
Grafton Nunes, President, Cleveland Institute of Art
Melanie Corn, President, Columbus College of Art and Design
Tony Jones, President, Kansas City Art Institute
Jonathan Burke, President, Laguna College of Art and Design
Samuel Hoi, President, Maryland Institute College of Art
David Nelson, President, Massachusetts College of Art and Design
Jay Coogan, President, Minneapolis College of Art and Design
Kent Deveraux, President, New Hampshire Institute of Art
Denise Mullen, President, Oregon College of Art and Craft
David Brigham, President, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Art
Larry Thompson, President, Ringling College of Art and Design,
Gordon Knox, President, San Francisco Institute of Art
Elissa Tenny, President, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Jay Kline, President, Watkins College of Art, Design & Film

Graphical image of the AICAD statement